Académie des Beaux-Arts
Version françase |
Suivez-nous sur :

Significant dates

27 January 1648 :

 Founding of the Royal Academy of Painting and Sculpture.

1666 :

At the urging of Lebrun and Colbert, the French Academy in Rome is established. It is now housed in the Villa Médicis, acquired in 1804.

28 June 1669 :

Founding of the Royal Academy of Music.

30 December 1671 :

Founding of the Royal Academy of Architecture.

August 1793 :

The Convention closes all academies and learned societies.

25 October 1795 :

The National Institute of Arts and Sciences is created to represent the new French Republic. Its third and most recent body, the Academy of Literature and Fine Art, is the forerunner of today's Académie des Beaux-Arts.

1795-1803 :

Their forced association with literature and archaeology leaves the fine arts no real independence; they have few representatives within the Institute.

23 January 1803 :

The Institute is now made up of four bodies; with only 28 members the newest of them is devoted exclusively to the fine arts, as distinct from literature.

1805 :

The French Academy leaves the Louvre for the Palais Mazarin, also known as the College of the Four Nations, on the Quai de Conti. After being renovated by Vaudoyer, the "Cupola" is inaugurated by the Académie des Beaux-Arts on 4 October 1806.

1815 :

Académie des Beaux-Arts membership is increased by official decree to 40.

21 March and 9 July 1816 :

Membership numbers are raised to 50, with 10 Foreign Associate Members and 40 Corresponding Members.

1916 :

Founding of the Casa de Velasquez in Madrid. Officially opened in 1928, it was later rebuilt and reopened in 1959.

11 July 1985 :

Without any increase in overall membership, the Académie des Beaux-Arts adds a new section devoted to creativity in the cinema and audio-visual fields.

8 June 1998 :

Overall membership now extends to 55 Academicians, 16 Foreign Associate Members and 55 French or foreign Corresponding Members.


Partager le site